THE DAY COLOUR CAME INTO MY LIFE

Recently I was contacted by Graeme Stevenson creator of the TV Art program series ‘Colour In Your Life’. He informed me that he was coming to film artists in WA for the first time and invited me to be a part of his next series. I was absolutely delighted!

The exciting part of this all is that Graeme asked me if I was willing to do my segment explaining my inspiration and method used to paint ‘Tears of the rhino’. This for me was the cherry on the top as it enabled me to draw attention to the out of control worldwide wildlife crime, which is of paramount importance to me.

Graeme and Sophia arrived early morning, Wednesday 4th March  and immediately set to work preparing for a full days filming.

My studio was instantly transformed into a film set with cameras, lighting, microphones etc. Graeme quickly jumped into action looking through all the material that I had provided him, asking me questions and telling me how the day would progress.

Sophia What  a smile Sophia!

IMG_22152

Graeme hard at work

The studio was abuzz with excitement and I must admit a degree of nervous energy coursing through my veins!

In about an hour everything was set up and we were ready to roll, “Camera, action” and we were off!

The day wasn’t without its challenges. It seems that every car in Dunsborough Lakes decided to drive past my house with alarming regularity, causing poor Sophia to almost go into melt down. “Cut”, “Ready action”, “Cut”, pause, for car to pass, “Ready, action” and so it went on all day.

The atmosphere was relaxed as we settled into a degree of continuity, cars permitting. With their professionalism the day rolled by in a relaxed and happy atmosphere as I painted, recreating ‘Tears of the rhino’.

Untitled-1

‘Tears of the rhino’

This was a challenge in itself as the painting was done a while ago. Luckily the whole process had been documented for a demo published in the Artists Palette Magazine which was a bonus for me. So I was able to put my own notes into action which made my task so much easier. Although no two paintings are the same there was enough information in my notes to enable me to recreate the painting, allowing the audience to follow the methods used for this piece.

It must have been equally challenging for  Sue and Merryl who were doing all the catering for my studio opening that same night, in complete silence. The kitchen being just a stones throw away made it very difficult indeed. I don’t know how they did it. Only once did Sophia have to admonish them for becoming  vocal in a moment of weakness!

Sue Graeme and Merryl

Sue, Graeme and Merryl

We finally reached the end of the days filming with Sophia’s final, “Cut and that’s a wrap!” We all breathed a sigh of relief.

Paula and Graeme

Paula and Graeme at the end of a long day

As I began to relax I realized how exhausted I was. A combination of nervous energy and excitement finally took its toll.  Graeme and Sophia equally worn out but their whirlwind visit to the South West.

Graeme and Sophia, videographer extraordinaire, kindly stayed on after filming to officially open my new studio with invited guests. It was a wonderful evening meeting new friends and sharing the love of art while sipping a wonderful glass of bubbly sponsored by Singlefile Wines, Denmark. This together with the superb spread provided by special friends made it a night to remember.  (http://www.singlefilewines.com/)

Grame and Sophia

Graeme and Sophia

Graeme and Sophia had to leave early evening to move onto the next town do it all again the following day. An exhausting and demanding trip for them.

The ‘Colour In Your Life’ television series was created by Master Artist and CEO Graeme Stevenson. The show was nominated for two Logie awards in 2012 and began to air nationally on the network TV4Me.

The series has since been picked up by free-to-air New Zealand, Sky TV, Foxtel Aurora 183, and Virgin Airways worldwide, as well as 8 channels in the USA. For further details go to: http://www.colourinyourlife.com.au/

Graeme has filled a void in the art world in Australia and continually takes us into the studios of artists working in a variety of mediums and genres. Giving us insight into their everyday working methods.

The program should be aired in about 6 weeks’ time on TV4me. In WA this is channel 64.

It was such a wonderful yet exhausting day, but one I will treasure forever.

    A big thank you to Graeme for putting some ‘Colour In Our Lives!’

About artbypaula

A free spirit expressing passion for life through artistic interpretation. I love painting, writing, music, travel and photography. I am passionate about conservation, wildlife and the desire to help preserve this wonderful planet we share.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to THE DAY COLOUR CAME INTO MY LIFE

  1. Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!!! I’m so happy for you dear, Paula! Your work never ceases to amaze me and your warm yet fighting spirit and passion for the welfare of others is admirable. Your love and compassion shows in your incredible art! Lots of love, Duncan xxx

    • artbypaula says:

      What a beautiful thing to say Duncan you are such a sweetheart! Thank you so much your words mean a lot to me xxxxxx

  2. April Rimpo says:

    This sounds like a wonderful experience. I hope I can see it in my area.

    • artbypaula says:

      I am not sure where you are but in Western Australia it is channel 64TV4me. Eastern Australia it is TV4me but if you aren’t able to see it on TV all you need to do is go to Colour In Your Life with Graeme Stevenson on the web and you will be able to view the series and all past series on your computer. I hope this helps and thank you for making contact Kind regards Paula

Leave a Reply

