TAKING THE PLUNGE

For many years I have been involved with wildlife conservation efforts  focusing on endangered species.

I have noticed that there has been a huge shift in the coverage of wildlife crime on social media, especially in the last year. This is understandable as there has been such a huge escalation in wildlife crime.

Last year I became very involved with the ONE FIGHT UNITE SAY NO poster awareness campaign. In a previous blog I wrote about the launch of the campaign in London last year. If you wish to find out more about this campaign you can follow this link: https://www.facebook.com/rages.one.fight.unite

5 Black Mambas South Africa

South African Black Mamba anti-poaching team – signing ‘Tears of the rhino’

A year down the track the poster of ‘Tears of the rhino’ has been signed by more than 50 high profile people across the globe. All these people are in some way or other involved with the preservation of the natural world. David Pocock was recently featured in a documentary about rhino poaching in Africa.

David Pocock  SAYS NO

David Pocock, South African/Australian rugby player signing ‘Tears of the rhino’

The campaign is ongoing and is being driven by Duke Ingram and Rubin Besureis from the ECO pop band Besureis – https://www.facebook.com/besureis/ . Their dedication and contribution has been incredible. Duke and Rubin are avid activists and advocates for animal welfare, they are a force to be reckoned with!

11_n

Dr Jane Goodall flanked by  Rubin Besureis and Duke Ingram – London

This year ONE FIGHT UNITE launched another poster using an image of my painting ‘Tears are not enough’ of a chimpanzee. This painting was done especially for the campaign and was released to highlight the 25th anniversary celebration of Dr Jane Goodall Roots and Shoots program. https://www.rootsandshoots.org/ 

1 Sir Peter Blake

Sir Peter Blake signing ‘Tears are not enough’ in London

It seems that the only hope for the future of this planet is education focusing on the next generation who will hopefully take better care of this planet than we have.

It is with this that I decided to ‘take the plunge’ and go back to Africa to conduct field research and that gave birth to ‘An Artists Quest for answers’. I am planning to do research in various parts of Africa to get an unbiased overall view of what so many dedicated people on the ground are facing in their fight to combat wildlife crime.

I realized that I could not handle this financially on my own and decided to crowd fund through GOFUND ME. This was fraught with apprehension not knowing if what I planned to do would be supported by the public or not. I took the plunge and launched my campaign this week.

Within minutes I received my first donation which was really encouraging. I was also contacted by Alex from HYDROCRYL art supplies, an Australian company who have donated a box full of art supplies. I am so incredibly grateful to Hydrocryl  and to those who believe in my research project. For the artists out there this is a superb product and the acrylics are deliciously creamy and vibrant with strong pigments of the highest quality. I used some of these products to paint ‘Tears of the rhino’and I highly recommend them!  http://hydrocryl.com.au/

It is now time for me to act and get out there to find out as much as I can so that I am able to put together a presentation for education purposes. It is hard for people in other countries to relate to the problems in Africa and the hardships endured by so many people who are dedicated to saving wildlife. Regardless of the fact that they have so little and receive practically no support at all they soldier on at great cost to their personal safety.

If you believe in what I am doing and wish to support me on my quest for answers, your contribution no matter how small will be greatly appreciated. I have a way to go yet to reach my target so any further assistance will be very much appreciated.

For any photographers out there I am looking for a good camera/video with at least an 80x optical zoom. I plan to document everything with photos, personal interviews etc to put together a presentation/documentary. I would appreciate some advice and or if perhaps any one has upgraded and might have a camera they are no longer using? Maybe there is a camera company out there that would be willing to sponsor me with this?

If you are unable to donate then sharing my quest would be absolutely fantastic!

Please follow this link: gofundme.com/22zrj9p6

I have never asked for assistance with anything in my life and would not be doing this except the animals need a voice and I have to do everything I can.

I know that what I am doing is but a drop in the ocean but surely if we all band together we can make a difference and put an end to the unspeakable cruelty and carnage of our precious wildlife?

IMG_4688

“All over the world the wildlife that I write about is in grave danger. It is being exterminated by what we call the progress of civilization.” ~Gerald Durrell

About artbypaula

A free spirit expressing passion for life through artistic interpretation. I love painting, writing, music, travel and photography. I am passionate about conservation, wildlife and the desire to help preserve this wonderful planet we share.
This entry was posted in Acrylic, Australian Artist, Fineart, Painting, Stop wildlife crime, Wildlife and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

