Digging deep can be confronting

I was recently asked to participate in an exhibition at a local gallery of artists self portraits. My immediate reaction was definitely NO! I have never had the desire to paint myself yet if you look back at the history of art most artists have painted one at some point.

In a moment of weakness I agreed.

This proved to be one of the most challenging pieces I have ever tackled. It forced me to look deep inside myself and reveal who I am. This journey was confronting but I did it! There was a point where I was about to throw in the towel and pull out but its not in my nature to give up. I love a challenge but this really tested me!

This is my thought process and how the painting evolved:

I did not have the full concept immediately. It evolved as the painting morphed into what it wanted to be!

I started off with the background which is quite textural and neutral. That part was easy. It was the following stages that took their time and tole!

I chose to do the portrait using splashes of bright colour representing the paint on my palette, which is very much a part of me.

The right side of the portrait is who I am, first and foremost, a woman. The opposite side represents the most important part of my life and that is my family. I am fierce when it comes to the protection and love of my children like a lioness protecting her cubs. The lioness also represents my passion for animals who don’t have a voice.

On this planet we share, I believe we are all connected to each other by an invisible force and this is represented by the surrounding trees encompassing the portrait.

The strong contrast of colour against a subdued background is how I often feel about my place in the universe. We are surrounded by negativity and it is a constant battle to remain positive in the face of adversity. “My cup is always half full” and that is my choice!

The exhibition opened a week ago at the Studio Bistro Gallery, Yallingup, Western Australia. http://www.thestudiogallery.com.au/

It was very interesting to see each individuals portrait and they are all so varied. The exhibition will end this Sunday.

Self portraitsml

Paula Wiegmink – self portrait 2016

I welcome your comments and look forward to hearing about your experience with self portraiture!

 

About artbypaula

A free spirit expressing passion for life through artistic interpretation. I love painting, writing, music, travel and photography. I am passionate about conservation, wildlife and the desire to help preserve this wonderful planet we share.
This entry was posted in Acrylic, Australian Artist, family, Fineart, Painting, Portraiture, Wildlife. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

